Bitcoin News - CryptoNewOne News

CFTC forms new Tech Advisory Group, appoints high-profile crypto executives

Executives from Circle, TRM, Fireblocks, and other companies have been appointed by the CFTC to its new Tech Advisory Committee (TAC).

In an official statement, Commissioner Christy Goldsmith Romero named Carole House — a former White House official — as its new chair, while Ari Redbord of TRM Labs was named as the vice chair.

Romero said:

“With our markets facing some of the most challenging and innovative times for next-generation technology, I am honored that the new members of the Technology Advisory Committee have agreed to this public service.”

Safeguarding markets

The Commission seeks guidance from tech experts to safeguard markets against ever-evolving cyber threats, promote responsible growth of digital assets, and enhance understanding of the potential impact of emerging technologies — such as artificial intelligence (AI).

“These experts can provide us foundational knowledge about the technology, as well as the complex and nuanced impacts and implications of technology on financial markets.”

Composition of the TAC

Former CFTC Commissioner Brian Quintenz — who currently serves as the head of policy at venture capital firm Andreessen Horowitz — previously sponsored the TAC.

The TAC includes several representatives from the crypto industry, including Circle VP Corey Then, Espresso Systems CSO Jill Gunter, Fireblocks CEO Michael Shaulov, Ava Labs CEO Emin Gün Sirer, and Justin Slaughter, the policy director of Paradigm.

The TAC’s inaugural meeting is scheduled for March 22, where members will discuss renewing the Cybersecurity Subcommittee, merging two previous TAC subcommittees to form a new Subcommittee on Digital Assets and Blockchain Technology, and creating a new Subcommittee on Emerging Technologies, according to the official CFTC statement.

Source link